Treating Multiple Sclerosis With the Swank MS Diet

4 years ago by NutritionFactsOrg, NutritionFacts.org

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger's videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: A plant-based diet may not only be the safest treatment for multiple sclerosis, it may also be the most effective.

I touched on this in my live 2013 year-in-review lecture More Than an Apple a Day (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/more-than-an-apple-a-day-preventing-our-most-common-diseases), but I'm excited to be able to take a deeper dive into this extraordinary story.

Those interested in supporting Dr. McDougall's landmark study (headed by Dr. Dennis Bourdette, M.D. and under the supervision of Dr. Vijayshree Yadav) can donate to his nonprofit McDougall Research & Education Foundation (http://www.drmcdougall.com/about/foundation/) (you can also donate to NutritionFacts.org to help keep us bringing you similarly underreported yet life-saving science by clicking on the Donate, https://nutritionfacts.org/donate/, button above).

Another reason Dr. Swank's work hasn't been embraced may be The Tomato Effect (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-tomato-effect/).

Other videos on the role diet may play in neurological disorders include:

Preventing Parkinson's Disease With Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-parkinsons-disease-with-diet/)
Treating Parkinson's Disease With Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/treating-parkinsons-disease-with-diet/)
Pork Tapeworms on the Brain (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/pork-tapeworms-on-the-brain/)
Nerves of Mercury (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/nerves-of-mercury/)

What's in sausage and eggs that may cause so much inflammation? See my video series on endotoxins described in my blog How Does Meat Cause Inflammation? (http://nutritionfacts.org/2012/09/20/why-meat-causes-inflammation/.)

Where is saturated fat found? See Trans Fat, Saturated Fat, and Cholesterol: Tolerable Upper Intake of Zero (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/trans-fat-saturated-fat-and-cholesterol-tolerable-upper-intake-of-zero/).

Those unfamiliar with Pritikin can watch a short introduction in Engineering a Cure (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/engineering-a-cure/), and Ornish and Esselstyn's great work is profiled in videos like Our Number One Killer Can Be Stopped (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/our-number-one-killer-can-be-stopped/) and China Study on Sudden Cardiac Death (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/china-study-on-sudden-cardiac-death/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/treating-multiple-sclerosis-with-the-swank-ms-diet/ and he'll try to answer it!